Things to see and do when staying at Derrybeg Bed & Breakfast, Pitlochry
Exciting quad trekking in the heart of Perthshire. Highland Offroad is located on the outskirts of Dunkeld within walking distance of the village. Trek amongst 280 acres of wild highland estate and enjoy stunning scenery and meet the local wildlife along the way! Treks available all year round and can be booked online
Bell's is one of the oldest working distilleries in Scotland. Here in Pitlochry, you can see the distillers utilising the most valuable of local resources, the crystal clear waters of the Allt Dour, the burn of the otter. After absorbing a few secrets of the distiller's art on a leisurely conducted tour, you can mull over the distinctive character of the finished article as you sip your complimentary dram.
Designed by Willie Fernie and established in 1908, Pitlochry is a neat little course located at the north end of the village. A gradual climb over the first three holes is well rewarded by the view from the fourth. Generous fairways and many natural hazards make this an ideal holiday course.
Located in Aberfeldy, Whisky connoisseurs will enjoy a visit to Dewar's World of Whisky and Distillery at Aberfeldy, the home of the Single Malt at the heart of the award-winning Dewar's White Label. Visitors can explore the brands in an innovative and 5 star exhibition that educates and entertains.
There are two eighteen hole courses at the Blairgowrie Golf Club - the Rosemount designed by James Braid and the Lansdowne designed in the 1970's by Peter Alliss and Dave Thomas. In addition there is an excellent 9 hole - The Wee Course - it is easy to arrange a day's golf at Blairgowrie.
Located 5 miles to the North of Pitlochry, the ancient seat of the Dukes and Earls of Atholl. Blair castle enjoys one of Scotland's finest settings in the heart of Highland Perthshire. Today we enjoy the beauty of the surrounding landscape but centuries ago it was a threatening and dangerous place.
Built in the late 16thC and the seat of the chiefs of the Clan Menzies. Menzies castle was occupied by Cromwell's General Monck in the 1650s and by the Jacobites in 1715. Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed here in 1746 but in revenge the family were thrown out & the castle used by Hanoverian forces.
Many of the plants we take for granted today didn't get here by accident. They were introduced by the great Scottish plant-hunters, who risked life and limb around the world to bring back new and exciting species! The Pitlochry Explorers Garden is a celebration of these explorers fascinating lives and their amazing contributions. The Explorers' Garden was conceived and built, in conjunction with the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. Definitely worth a visit when staying in Pitlochry
The gardens at Blair Castle were laid out by the 2nd Duke of Atholl in the 18th century. In the area east of the castle, he built a magnificent nine acre walled garden called "The Hercules Garden". A statue of Hercules is placed above the garden with a spectacular view across its sloping grounds and majestic ponds. This beautiful garden is planted with over 100 fruit trees, vegetables, herbs and flowers. A must see at any time of year!
Bolfracks House is best known for it's gardens. Just a short drive from Derrybeg, Bolftracks garden is definately worth a visit. There has been an ornamental garden here since the mid 18th century. Most of what can be seen today originates from 1970’s and is the work of the late Mr J Douglas Hutchison. The stream garden was planned and constructed by Ian Lawrie of Dundee in 1928 along the course of the Bolfracks Burn. It was restored and replanted from 1983-85.
Loch Faskally lies between steeply wooded hills and is approximately 3.2 kilometres in length, narrowing to around 700 metres wide. The loch is retained by the Pitlochry Dam which was buil between 1947 and 1950 as part of the North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board' Hydro Electric Scheme. The dam incorporates the salmon fish ladder, allowing around 5,400 salmon to ascend annually, and is a popular visitor attraction.
One of the finest formal gardens in Europe, the Drummond Castle garden is an eclectic garden, rooted firmly in the Italian style with fountains, terracing, urns and statuary. Drummond has all the characteristics of a courtly, 17th century Scottish Renaissance garden. It is a composite garden, restructured in early Victorian times and renewed again in the 20th century when the garden framework and the exceptional interest of the original 19th century design were carefully preserved.
A new free-to-visit centre showcasing the engineering revolution which brought power to the glens for the first time. The new Pitlochry Dam Visitor Centre is cantilevered eight metres out from the banks of the River Tummel, providing breathtaking views of the Pitlochry dam, hydro station and Loch Faskally. It also has a 60-seat café and multi-purpose space suitable for educational visits.
across. It runs from the south west (Killin) to the north east ( Kenmore ) and is flanked on either side by mountains. These include the Munros of Ben Lawers and Meall Greigh. On the north side is the main A827 road which also links Killin and Kenmore and is an important east-west corridor. On the south shore is a single track road which, although it takes longer, offers some fine views Loch Tay is renowned for its water sports, including River and Loch Tay salmon fishing, canoeing, paragliding, rafting and yachting.
Loch Tummel is approximately 11 kilometres long from east to west, and is just under 1 kilometre wide. It became part of the Tummel Hydro-Electric Power Scheme when the Clunie Dam was constructed by Wimpey Construction at its eastern end in 1950, raising the water level by 4.5 metres. The loch is traversed by roads on both north and south banks, offering splendid views of the surrounding countryside.
Loch Rannoch is over 14 kilometres long in an east-west direction with an average width of about 1,000 m. The River Tummel begins at its eastern end. The Tay Forest Park lies along its southern shore. The wild Rannoch Moor extends to the west of the loch and used to be part of the Caledonian Forest that stretched across much of Northern Scotland. This is proven in part by the presence of Scots Pine stumps preserved in the boggy areas of the moor.
The Falls of Bruar walk - located just adjacent to The House of Bruar, a very tranquil and relaxing walk through a gourge of great natural beauty. Bruar gorge is a living memorial to the poet Robert Burns, who came here in 1787 to admire the falls. Burns wrote The Humble Petition of Bruar Water in which he urged the 4th Duke of Atholl to plant its, at the time, bleak banks with trees. The Duke duly obliged in 1796.
Located approximately 5 miles North of Pitlochry, the spectacular view is just one of the scenic views to be seen. There is now an exhibition and audio visual display "The cradle of Scottish Forestry" telling the history of people and forests in Highland Perthshire. There are the usual facilities such as tea room, toilets, shop and car park.
Located 3 miles North of Pitlochry, The Pass of Killiecrankie, is renowned for its outstanding beauty and natural history. It has been gouged into the landscape by successive ice ages and meltwaters. The River Garry flows at the bottom of the Pass, while ancient mixed woodlands dominate the sides.
It's 3,504 ft of mountain adventure that beckons to skiers and snowboarders alike. From invitingly easy to the surprisingly steep, Glenshee offers the most extensive skiing and snowboarding in Scotland. Glenshee offers steeps and glades, pisted and unpisted, open bowls and narrow gullies.
Standing 2759ft (841metres) above Pitlochry, Ben Vrackie is one of the most popular walks starting above Pitlochry. On a clear day the summit represents one of the very best view's of the surrounding area. Take the East Moulin Road up to the village of Moulin. From behind The Moulin Inn follow the road up to the car park. The height, gradient and good path means the summit is accessible in most weathers.